Florida Sex Offender Registry: Requirements & Avoiding Charges

Florida State Statute 943.0435 list 19 offenses which require a person to register as a Sex Offender. The most common are sex with a minor – Florida State Statute 794.05, possession or transmission of child pornography – Florida State Statute 847.0137 and sexting with a minor – Florida State Statute 847.0138.

If you have been convicted of one of these crimes, no matter the sentence you MUST register as a sex offender with the local sheriff’s office within 48 hours of your conviction or release from jail/prison.

When you register you MUST provide your name; date of birth; social security number; race; sex; height; weight; hair and eye color; tattoos or other identifying marks; fingerprints; palm prints; photograph; occupation and place of employment; all of your addresses, including post office boxes; the make, model, color, vehicle identification number (VIN), and license tag number of all vehicles owned; all home telephone numbers and cellular telephone numbers; all electronic mail addresses and all internet identifiers; date and place of each conviction; a brief description of the crime or crimes committed by the offender; passport, if you have one; all documents establishing your immigration status, if you are an alien; and any information about any professional licenses. If you are going to or working for college or a trade school you MUST provide name; address; and county of each institution, including each campus attended; your enrollment, volunteer, or employment status.

You will also have 48 hours of your conviction or release from jail/prison to register with the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.

When you register you MUST identify yourself as a sexual offender and provide all of the same information that was given to the sheriff’s office. Additionally, you MUST pay for a new driver’s license or identification card that contains a special notation on the bottom that indicates you are a sex offender.

Not only MUST you register within 48 hours but you MUST also update both the sheriff’s office and DHSMV within 48 hours every time you move, get a new vehicle, change telephone number, change colleges, start using a new internet address and get a new professional license.

Even if you keep both the sheriff’s office and DHSMV up-to-date with all of your information you will still have to report in person to the sheriff’s office every 3 or 6 months, depending on what your conviction is for.

Once a sex offender you will be required to register for the rest of your life, even if you leave the state.

Failure to register with the sheriff’s office or DHSMV can result being charged with a 3rd degree felony, which can cost you up to 5 years in prison and a $5,000 fine.

Not only are there currently state and federal laws that deal with sex offender registration, many counties, cities and towns are also passing laws that a sex offender must comply with.

The registration requirements and process is complex and can be very daunting. At Taracks & Associates we have amassed more than 40 years of experience in navigating the sex offender registration process and even know ways to prevent you from being considered a sex offender at all.

Contact Taracks & Associates or call 813-281-2897 to take advantage of our expertise and allow us to assist you in this process and maybe even prevent you from being considered a sex offender in the first place.

Free Consultation

Request a free, confidential consultation. No Obligation.