- Helping Clients with Their Legal Challenges for over 30 Years
- More than 10,000 People Helped
- 185 Jury Trials Handled
- The Experience of a Former Prosecutor
- Highly Recommended by Peers & Past Clients
- Free Initial Consultations
Tampa Sex Offender Defense Lawyers
Registry as a sex offender after conviction of a sex crime is required by the state of Florida according to the Florida Statutes § 943.0435.
According to the Florida Statutes, sex offenders are those who meet this criteria:
a.(I) Has been convicted of committing, or attempting, soliciting, or conspiring to commit, any of the criminal offenses proscribed in the following statutes in this state or similar offenses in another jurisdiction: s. 787.01, s. 787.02, or s. 787.025(2)(c), where the victim is a minor and the defendant is not the victim’s parent or guardian; s. 787.06(3)(b), (d), (f), (g), or (h); s. 794.011, excluding s. 794.011(10); s. 794.05; s. 796.03; s. 796.035; s. 800.04; s. 810.145(8); s. 825.1025; s. 827.071; s. 847.0133; s. 847.0135, excluding s. 847.0135(6); s. 847.0137; s. 847.0138; s. 847.0145; or s. 985.701(1); or any similar offense committed in this state.
For clarification on any of the statutes listed above, please view the corresponding chapters of the Florida Statutes or consult a Tampa sex offender attorney from our firm to learn more about the sex offender registry and all the necessary paperwork.
Failure to register as a sexual offender or sexual predator carries serious consequences in the State of Florida. An individual charged with failing to register as a sexual offender or sexual predator can be charged with a third degree felony or some instances a second degree felony. Sexual offenders and sexual predators are subject to many different forms of registration. A list of the registration requirements are as follows for sexual offenders and sexual predators:
- Registration within 48 of being released from custody
- Registration within 48 hours of relocating from another address
- Registration of Address of Residence
- Registration of Employment or Enrollment at an Institution of Higher Learning
- Registration with the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles
A failure to comply with any of these registration requirements can result in criminal charges being pursued by the state attorney’s office. Charges can also be filed for failing report twice a year or quarterly, depending on what is required by FDLE.
Fail to Register? Call a Tampa Sex Offender Attorney
If you have been arrested and charged with Failure to Register as a Sex Offender or Predator, contact the criminal defense firm of Taracks & Associates. An experienced Tampa sex offender lawyer is available every day of the year, 24 hours a day to speak with you regarding your situation. Allow us to use our extensive experience defending sex offense cases here in the Tampa Bay area to help protect your rights and defend your case.