Tampa Felony DUI Lawyer
Aggravated DUI Charges in Florida
Many drunk driving cases are charged as misdemeanors. However, if your Florida DUI involved aggravated circumstances, you may be charged with a felony instead. This can be known as felony DUI or "aggravated DUI." In all fifty states, an individual is considered legally drunk when his/her blood alcohol concentration reaches .08%.
If convicted of drunk driving, you may be charged a $500 fine for your first offense. Subsequence offense are punishable by $1,000 fines and other penalties. If found behind the wheel of a car with a BAC of .15% or higher, you may be charged with felony DUI.
If you've been charged with a felony DUI, the time to speak with proven counsel is now. Call us at (813) 990-0599 to speak with our Tampa aggravated DUI lawyer today.
What is Aggravated/Felony DUI?
Generally speaking, DUI charges are elevated to a felony when the offense involves aggravated circumstances. A variety of situations could be described as aggravated. For instance, you may be subject to a felony charge if you have been convicted of drunk driving before. According to Fla. Stat. § 316.193 (2)(3), any person found guilty of DUI three times in a span of ten years may be charged with felony DUI.
Additionally, if you are accused of driving under the influence or the fourth time, your charges may be enhanced to a felony DUI. Additionally, drunk driving cases that involve serious bodily injury may be charged as a felony instead of a misdemeanor. If convicted of felony DUI with serious bodily harm, you may be sentenced to five years in prison and a $5,000 fine.
Manslaughter and Vehicular Homicide
According to Florida law, DUI with manslaughter is a second-degree felony. If convicted, you could be sentenced to 15 years in prison. Generally speaking, DUI with manslaughter occurs when a drunk driver is directly responsible for the death of another human being. If an individual is killed by a drunk driver, his/her family may pursue a wrongful death claim.
If convicted of manslaughter and leaving the scene of the accident, you could be sentenced to 30 years in prison and a $10,000 fine. Like DUI with manslaughter, vehicular homicide is a serious crime with serious consequences. If convicted of vehicular homicide, you could be subject to a 15-year prison sentence and $10,000 fine. Vehicular homicide/leaving the scene is considered the most offensive felony DUI crime and is punishable by 30 years of incarceration and a $10,000 fine.
Choose the Proven Defense from Taracks & Associates
Have you been arrested for felony DUI (or aggravated DUI)? If so, you need a Tampa felony DUI attorney with the knowledge, experience and resources to help you stay out of jail. At the firm, we are dedicated to helping people like you. As a former prosecutor, we are familiar with both sides of the courtroom and are ready to use this knowledge to the advantage of our clients.
To see what a Tampa felony DUI attorney from Taracks & Associates can do for your felony DUI case, contact us today.
DUI and LSOA Reduced to Reckless Driving
Professional Accused of DUI Reduced to Reckless Driving
Client Charged with DUI AND DWLS Case Dismissed
2 X DUI/Open Container Case Dismissed
Charged with DUI Case Dismissed
DUI Reduced to Reckless Driving
DUI Reduced to Reckless Driving
DUI Reduced to Reckless Driving.
DUI Following a Traffic Accident Reduced to Reckless Driving
3rd DUI Reduced to Reckless Driving