Failure to Register as a Sexual Offender or Sexual Predator in Tampa, Florida

Failure to Register as a Sexual Offender or Sexual Predator in Tampa, Florida

In Florida, after you have been convicted of a sexual offense you are required to register with local law enforcement as a sexual offender or sexual predator. This enables local law enforcement agencies to track convicted sex offenders/predators in local communities. Failure to register or report in a timely manner can be a felony offense.

What Information am I Required to Provide?

According to the statute, you are required to provide the following information:

  • Your name;
  • date of birth;
  • social security number;
  • race;
  • sex;
  • height;
  • weight;
  • hair and eye color;
  • tattoos or other identifying marks;
  • fingerprints;
  • photograph;
  • occupation and place of employment;
  • address of permanent or legal residence (a post office box shall not be provided in lieu of a physical residential address);
  • home telephone number and/or cellular phone number;
  • any electronic mail address and any instant message name; and
  • a brief description of the crime or crimes committed by the offender.

In What Ways Can I Violate This Requirement?

  • Depending on your status (predator/offender) you have registration deadlines multiple times per year;
  • Every time you move you must notify law enforcement;
  • You may not be able to reside near certain businesses/public places;

What are the Penalties Associated with a Failure to Register?

This is a serious felony offense that could land you in jail. If you know you have violated a requirement you should immediately contact a defense attorney to discuss your case. Depending on the facts this could be a third degree felony punishable by up to 5 years in prison or a second degree felony punishable by up to 15 years in prison.

Free Consultation

Request a free, confidential consultation. No Obligation.