What are the Petit Theft Defenses in Florida?

Under Florida Statute 812.014, Petit theft is defined as the theft of property valued between $100 and $300 dollars. Petit theft is a first degree misdemeanor in Florida, punishable by up to one year in jail as well as fines, court costs, and probation. There are many possible defenses to this charge and several ways to resolve your case that in many instances prevent you from having a criminal record. For example, under certain circumstances the State will allow you to enter into a diversion program where you complete a quasi form of probation and when you have completed the terms of that program you walk away with no record. This can be especially helpful if you are a young person looking to go to college or have a career down the road.

If you or a loved one has been charged with petit theft in Florida, call us today for a free consultation at 813-281-2897. We would be happy to evaluate your case and give you a break down of all of your options at no charge. Taracks & Associates – The Advocate For You.

Free Consultation

Request a free, confidential consultation. No Obligation.