If you have been, or it looks like you will be convicted of DUI in Florida, your license will be suspended. Even if the Judge does not suspend your driver’s license for a DUI Conviction, the Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles will administratively suspend your privilege to drive for the maximum period allowed by law. It is your advantage for the Judge to impose the shortest suspension allowed by law as provided by Fla. Stat. 322.28(2):

  1. For a 1st DUI Conviction for a minimum of 6 months to a maximum of one year, and you are eligible to apply for a business/employment work permit upon leaving court.
  2. For a 2nd Dui Conviction within 5 years of a prior conviction, then there is a mandatory 5 year suspension, and you are eligible for a business/employment work permit one year after your conviction.

Note: if the prior conviction is more than 5 years, then the suspension is for between 6 months to one year, and you are not eligible for a work permit during that time period.

  1. For a 3rd DUI Conviction in which one of the prior convictions is within 10 years, then there is a mandatory 10 year license suspension. You will not be eligible to have a Work Permit issued until at least 2 years.

Note: if the prior convictions are all older than 10 years, then the suspension is for between 6 months to one year, and you are not eligible for a work permit during that time period.

We at Taracks & Associates understand the complicated rules and administrative procedure to know if you are eligible, and what you need to do in order to get your work permit in Florida. So if your license is, or is about to be suspended, and you do not have an attorney helping you through this administrative process; then call today for your Free Consultation at 813-281-2897 to speak with one of our Tampa DUI License Attorneys.

If you are eligible to apply for a work permit here are a few tips that will save you time, aggravation, and have you driving quickly after you are eligible.

  • If this is your first DUI Conviction, contact DHMSV prior to your court date to schedule your Eligibility Hearing as soon as possible after your court date. The offices that hold these hearings are listed here
  • The reinstatement cost from a DUI Conviction will cost at a minimum $265.00 so be prepared to pay these fees once you are approved for a work permit.
  • You will need to bring proof of your conviction, and you will be able to get those documents after you are fingerprinted in Court. You will not need to complete any recommended substance abuse counseling program, but you will need to have at least enrolled into an approved program.
  • You will need to bring your DUI School Completion Certificate. If you have not completed DUI School, then you will not qualify for a work permit until it is completed. Often Judge’s will allow for a continuance of your case in order to complete this school.
  • If your breath test at the time of your arrest was over .15%, and the prosecutor has agreed to have your case considered less than .15%, you will need an order to that affect signed by the Judge at the time of your conviction.
  • If you are convicted of a DUI in which your breath test was over .15%, then you will have to install an Interlock Breath Test device in the car that you drive. You can make an appointment to have this device installed prior to your hearing so that you can drive as soon as practical by contacting one of the approved following providers:
  • Do not drive yourself to the DHSMV hearing office, because you are not eligible if there is any proof that you have been driving while your license is under suspension, and parking lots at DHSMV offices are frequented by police officers, as well as employees of DHSMV who pay attention to who drives to this office.

So, if you have any questions about either if you are eligible, or need help in securing a Work Permit in Florida, please contact one of our experienced Tampa Work Permit Attorneys at 813-281-2897, and we discuss steps that we can take to assist you through the process to get you driving again.

Free Consultation

Request a free, confidential consultation. No Obligation.