Today, the Tampa Bay Times reported that a man who allegedly fled the scene of a fiery collision last month was arrested after his blood test results indicated a blood alcohol concentration of .105 percent. The legal limit is .08 percent.
The accident seriously injured a woman from Valrico, making this a DUI with injury case in addition to "leaving the scene" of an accident. The man responsible for the collision turned himself in and was then booked on multiple drunk driving charges.
The accident occurred on July 27, 2013. The victim was driving eastbound on the Brandon Parkway Extension while the perpetrator was headed south on Providence Road (which intersects the Brandon Parkway Ext.). According to authorities, the man failed to yield at a stop sign, drove over a raised median and T-boned the victim's vehicle.
The car burst into flames almost instantly, but due to the severity of the impact, the victim became trapped inside her vehicle. The man fled the scene on foot, but authorities apprehended him a short time after. He is now facing one charge of leaving the scene of a crash, one charge of DUI with serious bodily injury and one charge of DUI with property damage.
In the state of Florida, DUI with injury is a third degree felony. If convicted, the man could face up to five years in prison. Leaving the scene of an accident, or "hit and run" as it is often referred to, is also a third degree felony per § 316.027 of the Florida Statutes with the potential for the same penalties as a DUI with injury charge. DUI causing property damage is a first degree misdemeanor which could carry a sentence of imprisonment for up to one year.
There are also serious ramifications for this man's driver's license after an incident like this. According to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV), 12 points against a license within one year warrants a 30-day suspension. 18 points within 18 months warrants a three-month suspension and 24 points within 36 months warrants a one-year suspension.
According to Florida law, there are some aggravated types of DUI charges that could warrant extended license suspension periods. For example, DUI with serious bodily injury holds a minimum three-year revocation. If found guilty, this man will face sentencing per the Florida sentencing guidelines. All offenses are categorized into different " levels." For example, DUI with serious bodily injury is a Level 7 offense which would warrant 56 points against your license.
To learn more about felony DUI charges, sentencing and possible defenses against these charges, contact a Tampa DUI lawyer from Taracks & Associates today and you'll receive a free evaluation of your case.