According to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV), a drinking and driving collision that results in serious bodily injury of the victim can either be considered a first degree misdemeanor or a third degree felony, depending on the severity of the injuries. Many times, accidents are wrongfully considered alcohol-induced. This may have happened to you, or some other circumstance to warrant this type of arrest. If you are facing these serious charges, then do not hesitate to speak with a Tampa DUI attorney at our firm today.
Under § 316.193 of the Florida Statutes, a collision that results in either property damage, personal injury or both can warrant a first degree misdemeanor charge. If the individual is actually convicted of this crime, they could face a maximum fine of $1,000 and a term of imprisonment not to exceed one year.
Under the same section of the Florida Statutes, a collision that results in serious bodily injury can result in a third degree felony charge. The penalties for a DUI with serious bodily injury are fines up to $5,000 and up to five years imprisonment. Your best chance at avoiding harsh penalties such as this is by contacting an attorney, so speak with a Tampa DUI lawyer from our firm today.
You may be questioning the difference between "injury" and "serious injury" when it comes to your DUI arrest. What is the difference? Typically, regular personal injury will involve an injury that heals relatively quickly and does not cause lasting or lifelong damage. A serious injury usually involves injuries, both psychological and physical, that are permanently debilitating and those injuries that victims will not easily recover from. Your accident may have wrongfully been classified as a "serious injury" case, in which case our firm can step in and argue against your charges.
For DUI with injury or serious injury, the driver's license revocation period will be different than regular DUI offenses. There will be a minimum three-year revocation, which is the same license penalty as for those that have been convicted of their second or subsequent DUI offense. If your license has been suspended, you have the opportunity to apply for a hardship reinstatement license. This must be done quickly after initial arrest, and you may also have to complete DUI school or a related alternative.
To learn more about the penalties of a DUI with injury conviction or to speak with an attorney for counsel regarding your case, then please contact a Tampa criminal defense lawyer from our firm as soon as possible. A DUI on your record is not only a traffic infraction, but a criminal offense that will leave a permanent mark on your record. You have the opportunity to fight back. Do so with the help of a skilled attorney from Taracks & Associates. Contact us today!